Author rate:
Page 1 from 2

15 books of Ruta Sepetys

A moving and haunting novel for readers of Fifteen-­year-­old Lina is a Lithuanian girl living an ordinary life--­until Soviet officers invade her home and tear her family apart. Separated from her father and forced onto a crowded train, Lina, her mother, and her young brother make their way to a Siberian work camp, where they are forced to fight for their lives. Lina finds solace in her art, documenting these events by drawing. Risking everything, she imbeds clues in her drawings of their location and secretly passes them along, hoping her drawings will make their way to her father's prison camp. But will strength, love, and hope be enough for Lina and her family to survive? This powerful tale of heartbreak and hope is sure to haunt readers long after they finish the last page.

Book rate:
5490 downloads

It’s 1950, and as the French Quarter of New Orleans simmers with secrets, seventeen-­year-­old Josie Moraine is silently stirring a pot of her own. Known among locals as the daughter of a brothel prostitute, Josie wants more out of life than the Big Easy has to offer. She devises a plan get out, but a mysterious death in the Quarter leaves Josie tangled in an investigation that will challenge her allegiance to her mother, her conscience, and Willie Woodley, the brusque madam on Conti Street. Josie is caught between the dream of an elite college and a clandestine underworld. New Orleans lures her in her quest for truth, dangling temptation at every turn, and escalating to the ultimate test. With characters as captivating as those in her internationally bestselling novel Ruta Sepetys skillfully creates a rich story of secrets, lies, and the haunting reminder that decisions can shape our destiny. “Sepetys writes with rawness and palpable emotional unease…the stakes are momentous.­” -- . . .

Book rate:
819 downloads

It’s 1950, and as the French Quarter of New Orleans simmers with secrets, seventeen-­year-­old Josie Moraine is silently stirring a pot of her own. Known among locals as the daughter of a brothel prostitute, Josie wants more out of life than the Big Easy has to offer. She devises a plan get out, but a mysterious death in the Quarter leaves Josie tangled in an investigation that will challenge her allegiance to her mother, her conscience, and Willie Woodley, the brusque madam on Conti Street.
Josie is caught between the dream of an elite college and a clandestine underworld. New Orleans lures her in her quest for truth, dangling temptation at every turn, and escalating to the ultimate test.­With characters as captivating as those in her internationally bestselling novel Between Shades of Gray, Ruta Sepetys skillfully creates a rich story of secrets, lies, and the haunting reminder that decisions can shape our destiny.­ReviewSTARRED REVIEW  Sepetys follows her debut, Between Shades of . . .

Book rate:
160 downloads

The author of Between Shades of Gray returns to WWII in this epic novel that shines a light on one of the war's most devastating—­yet unknown—­tragedies.
In 1945, World War II is drawing to a close in East Prussia, and thousands of refugees are on a desperate trek toward freedom, almost all of them with something to hide. Among them are Joana, Emilia, and Florian, whose paths converge en route to the ship that promises salvation, the Wilhelm Gustloff. Forced by circumstance to unite, the three find their strength, courage, and trust in each other tested with each step closer toward safety.
Just when it seems freedom is within their grasp, tragedy strikes. Not country, nor culture, nor status matter as all ten thousand people aboard must fight for the same thing: survival.
Told in alternating points of view, and perfect for fans of Anthony Doerr's Pulitzer Prize-­winning All the Light We Cannot See, Erik Larson's critically...

Book rate:
99 downloads
Book rate:
47 downloads

Ruta Sepetys, la autora de Entre tonos de gris, crea una protagonista inolvidable en la apasionante ciudad de Nueva Orleans.­En una ciudad llena de peligros, Josie Moraine encontrará en los libros el valor para soñar con un futuro mejor. Nueva Or...

Book rate:
26 downloads

Junio de 1941, Kaunas, Lituania. Lina tiene quince años y está preparando su ingreso en una escuela de arte. Tiene por delante todo lo que el verano le puede ofrecer a una chica de su edad. Pero de repente, una noche, su plácida vida y la de su fa...

Book rate:
15 downloads

Heb je je weleens afgevraagd hoeveel een mensenleven waard is? Die morgen was mijn broertje niet meer waard dan een horloge. Het is en de vijftienjarige Lina is toegelaten tot de kunstacademie. Ze maakt zich op voor haar eerste afspraakjes met jongens en alles wat de zomer nog meer te bieden heeft. Maar die ene nacht komt de Sovjetpolitie haar huis binnenvallen. Ze sturen haar vader naar de gevangenis en deporteren Lina samen met haar broertje en haar moeder naar Siberië. De onbevreesde Lina vecht in het kamp voor haar leven en neemt zich voor haar familie en ontelbare lotgenoten te eren. Hiervoor wendt ze haar talent aan en ze legt de gruwelijke ervaringen vast in tekeningen en op schrift. Wanneer Lina besluit haar tekeningen uit het kamp te smokkelen, riskeert zij haar leven. Zal ze haar vader in de gevangenis kunnen bereiken? Schaduwliefde is een meeslepende roman die je de adem beneemt, je hart verovert en je de wonderlijke kracht laat zien van de menselijke geest.

Book rate:
10 downloads
Book rate:
6 downloads
Book rate:
3 downloads

Comments

No comments yet

Books of Ruta Sepetys