Page 1 from 1

5 books of Neumeier, Rachel

Griffins lounged all around them, inscrutable as cats, brazen as summer. They turned their heads to look at Kes out of fierce, inhuman eyes. Their feathers, ruffled by the wind that came down the mountain, looked like they had been poured out of light; their lion haunches like they had been fashioned out of gold. A white griffin, close at hand, looked like it had been made of alabaster and white marble and then lit from within by white fire. Its eyes were the pitiless blue-­white of the desert sky. Little ever happens in the quiet villages of peaceful Feierabiand. The course of Kes' life seems set: she'll grow up to be an herb-­woman and healer for the village of Minas Ford, never quite fitting in but always more or less accepted. And she's content with that path -- or she thinks she is. Until the day the griffins come down from the mountains, bringing with them the fiery wind of their desert and a desperate need for a healer. But what the griffins need is a healer who is not quite . . .

Book rate:
221 downloads
  read online  

Gereint Enseichen of Casmantium knows little and cares less about the recent war in which his king tried to use griffins and fire to wrest territory from the neighboring country of Feierabiand...­but he knows that his kingdom's unexpected defeat offers him a chance to escape from his own servitude. But now that the griffins find themselves in a position of strength, they are not inclined to forgive and the entire kingdom finds itself in deadly peril. Willing or not, Gereint will find himself caught up in a desperate struggle between the griffins and the last remaining Casmantian mage. Even the strongest gifts of making and building may not prove sufficient when the fiery wind of the griffins begins to bury the life of Casmantium beneath the burning sands . . .

Book rate:
104 downloads
  read online  

When Trei loses his family in a tragic disaster, he must search out distant relatives in a new land. The Floating Islands are unlike anything Trei has ever seen: stunning, majestic, and graced with kajurai, men who soar the skies with wings.­Trei is instantly sky-­mad, and desperate to be a kajurai himself. The only one who fully understands his passion is Araene, his newfound cousin. Prickly, sarcastic, and gifted, Araene has a secret of her own . . . a dream a girl cannot attain.­Trei and Araene quickly become conspirators as they pursue their individual paths. But neither suspects that their lives will be deeply entwined, and that the fate of the Floating Islands will lie in their hands. . . .­Filled with rich language, and told in alternating voices, The Floating Islands is an all-­encompassing young adult fantasy read.

Book rate:
36 downloads
  read online  

A lush new fantasy about finding the will to lead against all odds, perfect for fans of Shadow and Bone. Keri has been struggling to run her family bakery since her mother passed away. Now the father she barely knew--­the Lord of Nimmira--­has died, and ancient magic has decreed that she will take his place as the new Lady. The position has never been so dangerous: the mists that hide Nimmira from its vicious, land-­hungry neighbors have failed, and Keri's people are visible to strangers for the first time since the mists were put in place generations ago. At the same time, three half-­brothers will their own eyes on the crown make life within the House just as dangerous as the world outside. But Keri has three people to guide her: her mysterious Timekeeper, clever Bookkeeper, and steadfast Doorkeeper. Together they must find a way to repair the boundary before her neighbors realize just how vulnerable Nimmira is.

Book rate:
27 downloads

Six years ago, the king of Casmantium's schemes shattered the balance between griffins and humans, and nearly led to disaster for both. Now the balance may be tipping once more - and this time neither courage nor sacrifice may be enough to repair what should never have been broken. Mienthe, the Lord of the Delta's young ward, knows only that her own peaceful life has been shaken. But when a spy brings a deadly secret from a neighboring country, she sees three kingdoms move towards war and two species toward destruction. Trapped between the secret many would kill to preserve and the desperate ferocity of the griffins, could Mienthe herself hold the key to preventing the atrocities to come?

Book rate:
18 downloads
  read online  

Comments

No comments yet

Books of Neumeier, Rachel