Author rate:
Page 1 from 4

36 books of Jeanne M Dams

Dorothy Martin and her husband, retired Chief Constable Alan Nesbitt, are invited to join their close friends Nigel and Inga Evans at a Welsh music festival where both Nigel and Inga will be performing with the world-­renowned conductor Sir John Warner. Amid the glorious surroundings of Welsh castles and the history of long-­ago battles, the stage is set for a most enjoyable festival.­However, when a tragic accident takes the life of one of the choir, and the same fate befalls another performer, Dorothy and Alan find themselves in the midst of an investigation as tumultuous, passionate and complicated as any opera.

Book rate:
38 downloads

“Fans of Agatha Christie and Dorothy L. Sayers will enjoy this very traditional British cozy” Booklist - Dorothy Martin and her husband, retired Chief Constable Alan Nesbitt, have just visited Buckingham Palace, where Alan was awarded the George Cross, when they and a friend, retired Chief Inspector Jonathan Quinn, stumble across the body of a young girl hidden in St James’s Park. Wondering what led to the unfortunate girl’s demise, Dorothy can’t help but get involved in the case when Jonathan calls the next day and admits he knew who the victim was . . .­From BooklistDorothy Martin, the American-­born schoolteacher and amateur sleuth who makes her home in England, returns in this new entry in a popular series. On a visit to Buckingham Palace, Dorothy and her husband, Alan, a retired chief constable, discover a dead body in a private section of St. James’s Park. As it turns out, Dorothy and Alan’s friend, a former chief inspector, knew the victim, and the friend asks Dorothy if she . . .

Book rate:
31 downloads

Vacation can be murder...­A peaceful vacation on the charming Scottish island of Iona sounds idyllic to sometime sleuth Dorothy Martin. But Dorothy soon finds that while Iona is charming, her vacation won't be peaceful. Thrown in with a bickering American church tour, she tries to keep her distance. But she can't stay away from murder. Everybody believes the unpleasant American's fatal fall from a cliff is accidental. Everybody, that is, except Dorothy. The only witness, she saw a small clue the police dismiss, one that makes her believe the death was not an accident. With the police closing the case, Dorothy feels bound to investigate. But it's a choice she may regret...­Review"Dorothy is a dear.­"-- "New York Times Book Review""Pleasurable...­Benefits from its sleth's appealing...­personality.­"-- "Publishers Weekly" From the AuthorMy favorite of my books
I suppose authors shouldn't have favorites, any more than mothers, but I confess that Holy Terror... is my favorite of my books. I . . .

Book rate:
30 downloads

The fourth entry in Jeanne M. Dams's delightfully charming, award-­winning mystery series starring Dorothy Martin. This time, Dorothy dons one of her most outlandish hats and sets out for the Doll House Museum at the imposing Brocklesby Hall to help a friend clear her son of theft charges. But two murders put more than a miniature Sevres tea set at stake and Dorothy finds herself maneuvering a complicated plot that is trickier and more dangerous than any of England's daunting roundabouts.

Book rate:
36 downloads

When Dorothy Martin gets a call from her friend Ada Finch, whose gardener son has been arrested for the attempted theft of an antique dolls' tea set from the Miniatures Museum at the imposing Brocklesby Hall, she doesn't hesitate to offer her services to clear his name. But when theft leads to murder, Dorothy discovers there are big secrets hidden in the rooms filled with miniatures.

Book rate:
26 downloads

She was about twenty, with long blond hair, and her body was found a few days after she fell from the cliffs to her death on the rocks below. No one identified her; no one reported a missing girl. All the police knew was her rough age, that she'd had a child recently, and that she was very underweight.­Her death was a mystery that had haunted Alan Nesbitt, Dorothy Martin's now-­retired chief constable husband, since 1968. It didn't matter that the incident had happened more than thirty years earlier; under the pretence of a 'vacation' to Cornwall, Dorothy was going to get to the bottom of the mystery for Alan . . . and uncover a new one while she was at it.

Book rate:
29 downloads

Dorothy Martin wanted to have a traditional Thanksgiving dinner for her husband, Alan and some of her friends – a real taste of home. Then came the call from the school, asking Dorothy to fill in because teacher Amanda Doyle hadn't shown up. Three days later, on Thanksgiving, the second call came: John Doyle had been murdered and Amanda was the suspect. Would Dorothy mind caring for their daughter Miriam for the day?­Dorothy had already sensed that something was not right in the Doyle household: John was clearly emotionally abusive, and the church they belonged to held some very strange ideas about sin and punishment. Now Amanda and Miriam need her to prove Amanda's innocence, and Dorothy unravels a nasty knot of family secrets.

Book rate:
24 downloads

Dorothy Martin is fitting in comfortably in her new English home, and now that her policeman husband, Alan, has retired, she's looking forward to some quiet time with him. But then the letter arrives: an old acquaintance in Indiana has died and left her a small inheritance. It seems an excuse to travel back to the States and take a well-­deserved vacation.­Dorothy should have known better. As well as the money, Kevin Cassidy has left a note predicting his own murder. It seems absurd; the beloved professor was ninety-­six when he died, apparently from pneumonia. But Alan and Dorothy know about innocent facades. As Dorothy begins to investigate, Alan discovers that his wife's sleuthing is hard work . . . and that here, Dorothy is very much in charge.

Book rate:
23 downloads

Once housemaid to the wealthy Studebaker family in South Bend, Indiana, Hilda Johansson is now married and living a well-­to-­do life with her new husband. But her Swedish family doesn't get along with his Irish relations. She's having trouble finding friends, since she no longer fits into her old world and isn't accepted in the new one. Just before Christmas, when the husband of her sole remaining friend is accused of theft, arson, and murder, Hilda has to find new ways of investigating a crime that seems to make no sense. In the hard economic times of 1904 with bank failures weekly, Hilda tries to aid the unemployed youth of South Bend by helping to form a Boys' Club modeled after Hull House in Chicago. And she also enlists some of them as "Baker Street Irregulars" in her mystery investigation, giving the reader a vivid sense of the city and street life of the times.

Book rate:
21 downloads

Comments

No comments yet

Books of Jeanne M Dams