Author rate:
Page 1 from 8

76 books of Ian Stewart

From the author of Professor Stewart's Cabinet of Curiosities, a new trove of entrancing numbers and delightful mathematical puzzles for adventurous minds

Book rate:
161 downloads

In this charming volume, a noted English mathematician uses humor and anecdote to illuminate the concepts of groups, sets, subsets, topology, Boolean algebra, and other mathematical subjects. 200 illustrations.

Book rate:
20 downloads

Biologists have long dismissed mathematics as being unable to meaningfully contribute to our understanding of living beings. Within the past ten years, however, mathematicians have proven that they hold the key to unlocking the mysteries of our world--­and ourselves. In The Mathematics of Life, Ian Stewart provides a fascinating overview of the vital but little-­recognized role mathematics has played in pulling back the curtain on the hidden complexities of the natural world--­and how its contribution will be even more vital in the years ahead. In his characteristically clear and entertaining fashion, Stewart explains how mathematicians and biologists have come to work together on some of the most difficult scientific problems that the human race has ever tackled, including the nature and origin of life itself.

Book rate:
20 downloads

An eminent teacher and writer explores an idea both simple and complex, both multidisciplinary and unifying-­the story of symmetry.

Book rate:
59 downloads

First there was Edwin A. Abbott's remarkable Flatland, published in 1884, and one of the all-­time classics of popular mathematics. Now, from mathematician and accomplished science writer Ian Stewart, comes what Nature calls "a superb sequel.­" Through larger-­than-­life characters and an inspired story line, Flatterland explores our present understanding of the shape and origins of the universe, the nature of space, time, and matter, as well as modern geometries and their applications. The journey begins when our heroine, Victoria Line, comes upon her great-­great-­grandfather A. Square's diary, hidden in the attic. The writings help her to contact the Space Hopper, who tempts her away from her home and family in Flatland and becomes her guide and mentor through ten dimensions. In the tradition of Alice in Wonderland and The Phantom Toll Booth, this magnificent investigation into the nature of reality is destined to become a modern classic.

Book rate:
12 downloads

Following on the success of his books Math Hysteria and How to Cut a Cake, Ian Stewart is back with more stories and puzzles that are as quirky as they are fascinating, and each from the cutting edge of the world of mathematics.
From the math of mazes, to cones with a twist, and the amazing sphericon--­and how to make one--­Cows in the Maze takes readers on an exhilarating tour of the world of mathematics. We find out about the mathematics of time travel, explore the shape of teardrops (which are not tear-­drop shaped, but something much, much more strange), dance with dodecahedra, and play the game of Hex, among many more strange and delightful mathematical diversions. In the title essay, Stewart introduces readers to Robert Abbott's mind-­bending "Where Are the Cows?­" maze, which changes every time you pass through it, and is said to be the most difficult maze ever invented. In addition, he shows how a 90-­year old woman and a computer scientist cracked a long-­standing question . . .

Book rate:
12 downloads

It is one of the wonders of mathematics that, for every problem mathematicians solve, another awaits to perplex and galvanize them. Some of these problems are new, while others have puzzled and bewitched thinkers across the ages. Such challenges offer a tantalizing glimpse of the field’s unlimited potential, and keep mathematicians looking toward the horizons of intellectual possibility.
In Visions of Infinity , celebrated mathematician Ian Stewart provides a fascinating overview of the most formidable problems mathematicians have vanquished, and those that vex them still. He explains why these problems exist, what drives mathematicians to solve them, and why their efforts matter in the context of science as a whole. The three-­century effort to prove Fermat’s last theorem—first posited in 1630, and finally solved by Andrew Wiles in 1995—led to the creation of algebraic number theory and complex analysis. The Poincaré conjecture, which was cracked in 2002 by the eccentric genius . . .

Book rate:
10 downloads

In In Pursuit of the Unknown , celebrated mathematician Ian Stewart uses a handful of mathematical equations to explore the vitally important connections between math and human progress. We often overlook the historical link between mathematics and technological advances, says Stewart—but this connection is integral to any complete understanding of human history. Equations are modeled on the patterns we find in the world around us, says Stewart, and it is through equations that we are able to make sense of, and in turn influence, our world. Stewart locates the origins of each equation he presents—from Pythagoras’s Theorem to Newton’s Law of Gravity to Einstein’s Theory of Relativity—within a particular historical moment, elucidating the development of mathematical and philosophical thought necessary for each equation’s discovery. None of these equations emerged in a vacuum, Stewart shows; each drew, in some way, on past equations and the thinking of the day. In turn, all of these . . .

Book rate:
8 downloads
Book rate:
7 downloads

Galois Theory, Second Edition is a revision of a well-­established and popular text. The author's treatment is rigorous, but motivated by discussion and examples. He further lightens the study with entertaining historical notes - including a detailed description of Évariste Galois' turbulent life. Photographs from Galois' manuscripts and other illustrations enhance the engaging historical context offered in the first edition. Written in a lively, highly readable style while sacrificing nothing to mathematical rigor, Galois Theory remains accessible to intermediate undergraduate students and an outstanding introduction to some of the intriguing concepts of abstract algebra.

Book rate:
6 downloads

Comments

No comments yet

Books of Ian Stewart