1546 books for genre «Music Styles»

Page 1 from 100


Author:

Scar Tissue is a story of dedication and debauchery, of intrigue and integrity, of recklessness and redemption — a story that could only have come out of the world of rock. Scar Tissue is Anthony Kiedis's searingly honest memoir of a life spent in the fast lane. In 1983, four self-­described "knuckleheads" burst out of the mosh-­pitted mosaic of the neo-­punk rock scene in L.­A. with their own unique brand of cosmic hardcore mayhem funk. Over twenty years later, the Red Hot Chili Peppers, against all odds, have become one of the most successful bands in the world. Though the band has gone through many incarnations, Anthony Kiedis, the group's lyricist and dynamic lead singer, has been there for the whole roller-­coaster ride. Whether he's recollecting the influence of the beautiful, strong women who have been his muses, or retracing a journey that has included appearances as diverse as a performance before half a million people at Woodstock or an audience of one at the...

Book rate:
10487 downloads
  read online  


Author:

Following in the tradition of Ghost Rider and Traveling Music, Rush drummer Neil Peart relates nearly four years of band tours, road trips, and personal discoveries in this introspective travelogue. From the ups and downs of a professional artist to the birth of a child, this revealing narrative recounts 22 adventures from rock's foremost drummer, biker enthusiast, husband and father. Both playful and insightful, Peart's love of drumming and the open road weaves throughout the stories as Neil explores horizons that are both physical and spiritual, sharing his observations about nature, society, and the self. Full-­color photos round-­out this tour of the open road that will resonate with Rush fans and motorcycle enthusiasts alike.

Book rate:
25 downloads


Author:

For the generation coming of age in the years from 1987 to 1994, magazine was every bit as crucial as. describes how Friend, the editor of, became the Zelig-­like chronicler of the biggest musical moments of that time—from introducing Guns N’ Roses (in nothing but a top hat, underwear, and cowboy boots) to sitting in during the making of Metallica’s "Black Album.­" provides revealing portraits of artists as varied as Kurt Cobain, Gene Simmons, Alice Cooper, Axl Rose, James Hetfield, Steven Tyler, and many more. Part oral history, part candid and humorous memoir, it is a wormhole back to a fast-­moving time in music that saw tastes flash from new wave to hair metal to grunge, told as only someone who was there through it all could tell it.

Book rate:
45 downloads


Author:

RetailYou wanted the truth, you got the truth—the hottest book in the world!

Fueled by an explosive mix of makeup, costumes, and attitude, KISS burst onto the music scene thirty years ago and has become a rock institution. The band has sold more than eighty million records, has broken every concert attendance record set by Elvis Presley and the Beatles, stands behind the Beatles alone in number of gold records from any group in history, and has spawned more than 2,­500 licenses. There would have been no KISS without Gene Simmons, the outrageous star whose superlong tongue, legendary sexual exploits, and demonic makeup have made him a rock icon. KISS and Make-­Up is the wild, shocking, unbelievable story, from the man himself, about how an immigrant boy from Israel studied to be a rabbi, was saved by rock and roll, and became one of the most notorious rock stars the world has ever seen.
Before Gene Simmons there was Chaim Witz, a boy from Haifa, Israel, who had no inkling of the . . .

Book rate:
103 downloads
Book rate:
21 downloads
  read online  


Author:

A musical tale of collegiate a cappella filled of high notes, high drama, and high jinks is now a major motion picture. Get ready to be pitch slapped. The roots of unaccompanied vocal music stretch all the way back to Gregorian chants of the Middle Ages, and collegiate a cappella is over a century old. But what was once largely an Ivy League phenomenon has, in the past twenty years, exploded. And it’s not what you think. Though the blue blazers and khakis may remain, a cappella groups at colleges across the country have become downright funky. In Pitch Perfect , journalist Mickey Rapkin follows a season in a cappella through all its twists and turns, covering the breathtaking displays of vocal talent, the groupies (yes, there are a cappella groupies), the rock-­star partying, and all the bitter rivalries. Rapkin brings you into the world of collegiate a cappella characters—from movie-­star looks and celebrity-­size egos to a troubled new singer with the megawatt voice. Including . . .

Book rate:
137 downloads


Author:

Do you cringe when your opera-­loving friends start raving about the latest production of Tristan? Do you feel faint just thinking about the six-­hour performance of Parsifal you were given tickets to? Does your mate accuse you of having a Tannhäuser complex? If you're baffled by the behavior of Wagner worshipers, if you've longed to fathom the mysteries of Wagner's ever-­increasing popularity, or if you just want to better understand and enjoy the performances you're attending, you'll find this delightful book indispensable. William Berger is the most helpful guide one could hope to find for navigating the strange and beautiful world of the most controversial artist who ever lived. He tells you all you need to know to become a true Wagnerite--­from story lines to historical background; from when to visit the rest room to how to sound smart during intermission; from the Jewish legend that possibly inspired Lohengrin to the tragic death of the first Tristan. Funny, informative, and . . .

Book rate:
12 downloads
Book rate:
55 downloads
  read online  


Author:

As a young schoolboy, David Essex dreamed of becoming a professional footballer, and was signed up by his beloved West Ham United, but as a teenager he developed a passion for music which set him on a very different path, and ultimately led to superstardom. It wasn't, however, an easy start. Scraping a living on the edges of show business was a hard slog, and he endured many disappointments. Then aged 23, he went along to an audition for a new musical called and won the role of Jesus that was to shoot him to fame. Within a year he was starring in the smash hit film,, and had written and recorded his first number one single 'Rock On'. It was the start of Essex Mania, and a long journey of undreamt of adventure. From to it's been an amazing life. And here is David's full incredible story - in his own words.

Book rate:
19 downloads
  read online  
Book rate:
43 downloads
  read online  

Books for genre Music Styles