2249 books for genre «Historical Fiction»

Page 4 from 100


Author:

A literary sensation and runaway bestseller, this brilliant debut novel tells with seamless authenticity and exquisite lyricism the true confessions of one of Japan's most celebrated geisha. Speaking to us with the wisdom of age and in a voice at once haunting and startlingly immediate, Nitta Sayuri tells the story of her life as a geisha. It begins in a poor fishing village in 1929, when, as a nine-­year-­old girl with unusual blue-­gray eyes, she is taken from her home and sold into slavery to a renowned geisha house. We witness her transformation as she learns the rigorous arts of the geisha: dance and music; wearing kimono, elaborate makeup, and hair; pouring sake to reveal just a touch of inner wrist; competing with a jealous rival for men's solicitude and the money that goes with it. In, we enter a world where appearances are paramount; where a girl's virginity is auctioned to the highest bidder; where women are trained to beguile the most powerful men; and where love is . . .

Book rate:
1366 downloads
Book rate:
285 downloads


Author:

No Description Available

Book rate:
7876 downloads


Author:

LET THE GAMES BEGIN... Penniless and desperate to escape the London streets where a mysterious man stalks her, Victoria Childers auctions off her virginity at the infamous House of Gabriel, a night house where every carnal pleasure can be satisfied. But Gabriel, the untouchable proprietor who outbids his patrons, doesn't want her innocence. Too late Victoria discovers she is a pawn, sent to Gabriel by the very man he will do anything"sacrifice anyone"to kill. Or will he Irresistibly drawn to the beautiful, dangerous proprietor who has walled himself away from human touch, Victoria vows to free Gabriel. Their passion plunges them into a masterminded game of death and desire where their only hope for survival is to embrace the past and the devastating truth it hides...

Book rate:
2902 downloads


Author:

As the black sheep second son of an Earl, Stephen Lyons has gained a reputation in the art of seduction, but when his wicked ways result in scandal, he joins the army to redeem himself. On the battlefield, he proves courageous . . . until he is seriously wounded. Returning home to recover, he discovers he can't remember the angelic beauty who arrives at his doorstep, his babe nestled in her arms. Mercy Dawson will risk everything to protect the son of the dashing soldier she once knew and admired. When Stephen offers to do the honorable thing, she is determined that London's most notorious gentleman will desire her and no other. But Mercy fears that what began as an innocent deception could destroy her dreams and their blossoming love if Stephen ever learns the scandalous truth . . . They are masters of seduction, London's greatest lovers. Living for pleasure, they will give their hearts to no one . . . until love takes them by surprise.

Book rate:
1588 downloads
  read online  


Author:

A postmodern visionary who is also a master of styles and genres, David Mitchell combines flat-­out adventure, a Nabokovian love of puzzles, a keen eye for character, and a taste for mind-­bending philosophical and scientific speculation in the tradition of Haruki Murakami, Umberto Eco, and Philip K. Dick. The result is brilliantly original fiction that reveals how disparate people connect, how their fates intertwine, and how their souls drift across time like clouds across the sky.

Book rate:
5740 downloads


Author:

Blush Sensuality Level This is a sensual romance love scenes are not graphic. Devastated by the death of her fianc at the hands of Indians, Katy Marie Alvarez decides to join a convent in order to avoid more tragedy. When her coach is attacked by the Cheyenne and she is the only survivor, shes given as a gift to their greatest warrior, Iron Wind"but she feels more like a slave. Emotions are running high and Katy is surprised when her passionate hatred toward Iron Wind melts into desire. Will the bond between them formed by their love be enough to keep them together through the treacherous times ahead A Blush historical romance from Elloras Cave Publishers Note This book was previously published elsewhere in 1986.

Book rate:
221 downloads


Author:

was originally sold and distributed in the UK as

Book rate:
706 downloads
  read online  


Author:

"A thrilling, haunting, and deeply romantic story.­" -­Rachel Hore, internationally bestselling author of The Memory Garden "Whatever time we have,­" he said, "it will be time enough.­" Eva Ward returns to the only place she truly belongs, the old house on the Cornish coast, seeking happiness in memories of childhood summers. There she finds mysterious voices and hidden pathways that sweep her not only into the past, but also into the arms of a man who is not of her time. But Eva must confront her own ghosts, as well as those of long ago. As she begins to question her place in the present, she comes to realize that she too must decide where she really belongs. From Susanna Kearsley, author of the New York Times bestseller The Winter Sea and a voice acclaimed by fans of Gabaldon, du Maurier, and Niffenegger alike, The Rose Garden is a haunting exploration of love, family, the true meaning of home, and the ties that bind us together. Praise for New York Times and USA Today bestseller . . .

Book rate:
561 downloads


Author:

Wrongly branded a spy, the dark and handsome Viking lord Selig Haardrad suffered greatly in the dungeons of Lady Erika of Gronwood. And as he hung in chains, his magnificent body wracked with pain and fever, one thought sustained him: revenge! Now Destiny's great wheel has turned--­and Selig's exquisite, hone-­haired tormentor has been delivered into the Norseman's hands. Now it is Selig who is the master, bound and determined to break the proud spirit of his captive "ice queen" and to conquer her with passion's sword -- never dreaming that his own heart will be vanquished by sensuous desire. . .­and victorious love.

Book rate:
2705 downloads
  read online  

Books for genre Historical Fiction