5543 books for genre «Books ~~ Humor~~ General»

Page 5 from 100


Author:

Everyone loves Dave Barry. His irreverent best-­selling books incite universal laughter. In The Greatest Invention in the History of Mankind is Beer and Other Manly Insights from Dave Barry , Dave goes on a testosterone riff, enlightening all about the intricacies of being male. Men everywhere can relate to this book's hilarious truths, from botched do-­it-­yourself projects to Super Bowl party etiquette to correctly answering the common female question, "How do I look?­"
* Most men think of themselves as average-­looking. Being average does not bother them; average is fine for men. This is why men never ask anybody how they look. Their primary form of beauty care is to shave themselves, which is essentially the same form of beauty care they give their lawns. If, at the end of his four-­minute daily beauty regimen, a man has managed to wipe most of the shaving cream out of his hair and is not bleeding too badly, he feels he has done all he can, so he stops thinking about his . . .

Book rate:
15 downloads


Author:

When I'm in power there are going to be some changes around here, I can tell you. May's Britain is going to be a better place to live. Top Gear’s James May is back with his hilarious and controversial opinions on . . . just about everything. As well as writing about his first love, cars, James has a go at political correctness, the endless rules and regulations of daily life, the internal combustion engine and traffic wardens. He discusses gastropubs, Jeremy Clarkson and other trials of modern life. His highly entertaining observations from behind the wheel will have you laughing out loud, whether you share his opinions, or not. Car Fever is an indispensable guide to life for the modern driver.

Book rate:
75 downloads


Author:

In this hilarious collection of observations, Cosby brings us more of his wonderful and wacky insights into the human condition that are sure to become classics. In the tradition of Fat Albert, I DIDN'T ASK TO BE BORN offers a host of new characters, including Peanut Armhouse and Old Mother Harold. Not since Mushmouth, Dumb Donald, Bucky and the Cosby Kids has there been such a memorable cast.

Over the past century few entertainers have achieved the legendary status of William H. Cosby Jr. His success spans five decades and virtually all media-­remarkable accomplishments for a kid who emerged from humble beginnings in a Philly housing project.

In the tradition of his bestselling books, Fatherhood and Cosbyology, the doctor of comedy holds forth on everything from first love to the Bible. Bill Cosby may not have asked to be born, but we're sure glad he was.

Book rate:
30 downloads
Book rate:
22 downloads


Author:

This collection of Russell Brand's columns for The Guardian not only follows the drama and tumult of the domestic and international football season but also a season in the life of one of our most celebrated comic talents.­Brand chronicles events both on and off the pitch as he travels between Upton Park and Hollywood. In his literary riffings, football legends and newfound heroes brush shoulders with a pantheon of cultural icons. Matches are won and lost, Brand's faith in his beloved West Ham tested, while the palette of company he keeps stretches from Morrissey to Gallagher to Gascoigne and back again.­Managerial manoeuvres at Wigan are discussed in reference to Joe Orton and the mysteries of the souks. The departure of Mourinho sparks reminisces of the shapely arse of a previous girlfriend. Love blossoms in the unlikely form of Paolo DiCanio. Arsenal's fluidity and purpose brings to mind yogic coitus of Sting and Trudie Styler. And the fate of his beloved...

Book rate:
35 downloads


Author:

Good advice for tough times

Book rate:
72 downloads


Author:

A couple years back, I was at the Phoenix airport bar.  It was empty except for one heavy-­set, gray bearded, grizzled guy who looked like he just rode his donkey into town after a long day of panning for silver in them thar hills.  He ordered a Jack Daniels straight up, and that's when I overheard the young guy with the earring behind the bar asking him if he had ID.  At first the old sea captain just laughed.  But the guy with the twinkle in his ear asked again.  At this point it became apparent that he was serious.  Dan Haggerty's dad fired back, "You've got to be kidding me, son.­"  The bartender replied, "New policy.  Everyone has to show their ID.­"  Then I watched Burl Ives reluctantly reach into his dungarees and pull out his military identification card from World War II.
It's a sad and eerie harbinger of our times that the Oprah-­watching, crystal-­rubbing, Whole Foods-­shopping moms and their whipped attorney husbands have taken the ability to reason away from the poor . . .

Book rate:
21 downloads


Author:

When Mr. Elliot Bingley comes to court Lizzy Bennet’s sister, she meets his mysterious, grey-­eyed friend, a Mr. Fitzwilliam Darcy. It takes only one meeting before Lizzy is lured into Darcy’s secret world of lascivious practices and lusty urges. Her heart is racing and her bloomers quivering at the thought of submitting to Mr. Darcy’s every whim…

Book rate:
21 downloads


Author:

An irreverent, laugh-­out-­loud funny parenting guide from the Honest Toddler, the Internet’s most infamous tot, whose unchecked sense of entitlement and undeniable charm have captivated hundreds of thousands of fans online. In this antidote to heavy-­handed advice books written by parenting “experts” who have gotten too big for size 2T britches, the Honest Toddler provides an indispensable manual to parenting that places the toddler’s happiness front and center. Outrageously confident and sweetly indignant, the Honest Toddler tackles everything from preferred toddler foods (unbroken crackers and undiluted juice), sleep- and potty-­training methods (none), playdate etiquette (mi casa es not su casa), and the proper response to random aggression at the playground (embrace it. Park justice is messy but swift). The result is a parenting book like no other, one that will leave moms and dads laughing, and maybe crying, as they recognize their own child in the ongoing shenanigans of one . . .

Book rate:
117 downloads

Books for genre Books ~~ Humor~~ General