4513 books for genre «Books ~~ Literary Collections~~ General»

Page 10 from 100


Author:

Can he get to his daughter in time? Will he become a successful writer soon enough? What is the artist up to? What is it that the monks really want? And, what did Stephanie do? Do you really want the answers? (Formerly published under the title "Force" in the anthology "From a Box in the Attic" by the same author.­)

Book rate:
10 downloads


Author:

A Treatise of Human Nature is a book by Scottish philosopher David Hume, first published in 1739?­1740.

Book rate:
45 downloads
  read online  


Author:

A California writer returns to her Midwestern home due to financial difficulties. Moving in with Mom, she lands a job at an online auction site. She deals with wacky coworkers, unsympathetic relatives, health issues and the struggle with being in Nadir--­the place and the state of mind.

Book rate:
16 downloads


Author:

Responsibility. Courage. Compassion. Honesty. Friendship. Persistence. Faith. Everyone recognizes these traits as essentials of good character. In order for our children to develop such traits, we have to offer them examples of good and bad, right and wrong. And the best places to find them are in great works of literature and exemplary stories from history. William J. Bennett has collected hundreds of stories in an instructive and inspiring anthology that will help children understand and develop character -- and help adults teach them. From the Bible to American history, from Greek mythology to English poetry, from fairy tales to modern fiction, these stories are a rich mine of moral literacy, a reliable moral reference point that will help anchor our children and ourselves in our culture, our history, and our traditions -- the sources of the ideals by which we wish to live our lives. Complete with instructive introductions and notes, is a book the whole family can read and . . .

Book rate:
9 downloads


Author:

"El loco de las muñecas" de Empar Fernández parte de un hecho real. En la primavera de 1999 dos hombres aparecieron muertos tras un incendio en una barraca de la ladera de Montjuïc (Barcelona). Uno de ellos -­supuestamente heroinómano- aún se encontraba abrazado a una decena de muñecas para protegerlas. Esta noticia es el punto de partida de una hermosa novela coral de amor y deseo.

Book rate:
9 downloads


Author:

Cinco historias, cinco personajes que, siempre llevan la baza menor; aunque piensen que su jugada es buena, habrá, seguro, alguien en la partida que les supere y arrample con todas las fichas.

Book rate:
9 downloads


Author:

Vampire Society is a guided tour through the social and political evolution that opened our century. It is a love story and an indictment against our culture of consumption, answering the most important question about love: Is real love possible in the Vampire Society?

Book rate:
9 downloads


Author:

Fans of Somewhere In Time and Slaughterhouse-­5 will be spellbound by the convoluted twists in time Mathew Dunsratty's life takes. Matt has found a way to change the past. What begins as an experiment in meditation uncovers an ability to plant thoughts within the head of his younger self, altering that future. Yet innocent meddling paves the way for increasingly selfish choices. Little by littl

Book rate:
9 downloads


Author:

Book Jungle provides classic literature in a modern format. Thousands of historical titles are now readily available to the public. Because of the original condition of many of these historical manuscripts, imperfections are possible. The value of these manuscripts lies in their historical significance and vivid accounts of the world from thousands of authors and storytellers. Book Jungle is proud to bring these rare volumes back into public use and to make them available to everyone.

Book rate:
9 downloads


Author:

Honoré de Balzac was a French novelist and playwright. His magnum opus was a sequence of short stories and novels collectively entitled, La Comédie humaine, which presents a panorama of French life in the years after the 1815 fall of Napoleon. Due to his keen observation of detail and unfiltered representation of society, Balzac is regarded as one of the founders of realism in European literature. He is renowned for his multifaceted characters, who are complex, morally ambiguous and fully human. His writing influenced many subsequent novelists such as Marcel Proust, Émile Zola, Charles Dickens, Edgar Allan Poe, Fyodor Dostoyevsky, Gustave Flaubert, Benito Pérez Galdós, Marie Corelli, Henry James, William Faulkner, Jack Kerouac, and Italo Calvino, and philosophers such as Friedrich Engels and Karl Marx. Many of Balzac's works have been made into or have inspired films, and they are a continuing source of inspiration for writers, filmmakers and critics.-­wikipedia

Book rate:
9 downloads

Books for genre Books ~~ Literary Collections~~ General