3817 books for genre «Books ~~ Fiction~~ Mystery & Detective ~~ Women Sleuths»

Page 5 from 100


Author:

Between baking up a storm for The Cookie Jar and unraveling the mystery of her cat Moishe's recent strange behavior, Hannah Swensen has a lot on her plate. But she'll always make time for her business partner, Lisa, who's in the midst of preparing for a big family reunion. Everyone is delighted when Lisa's long-­lost uncle makes a surprise appearance. No one has heard from Gus in twenty-­five years. Uncle Gus is immediately the hit of the reunion. He's almost as popular as Hannah's scrumptious carrot cake, which is also Gus's favorite dessert. But the next morning, as the whole family gathers for the group photo, one person is missing. Hannah offers to track down Uncle Gus, but her search leads to a shocking find. Over by the bar at the pavilion, she spots two slices of her infamous carrot cake, frosting-­side down on the floor--­and Gus's corpse with an ice pick jutting out of his chest! Now Hannah's got to sift through a long list of suspects to find a killer--­even if it could mean . . .

Book rate:
95 downloads


Author:

Meeting an anonymous client late on a sizzling summer night is asking for trouble. But trouble is Chicago private eye V. I. Warshawski’s specialty. Her client says he’s the prominent banker John Thayer. Turns out he’s not. He says his son’s girlfriend, Anita Hill, is missing. Turns out that’s not her real name. V. I.­’s search turns up someone soon enough—the real John Thayer’s son, and he’s dead. Who’s V. I.­’s client? Why has she been set up and sent out on a wild-­goose chase? By the time she’s got it figured, things are hotter—and deadlier—than Chicago in July. V. I.­’s in a desperate race against time. At stake: a young woman’s life.

Book rate:
136 downloads


Author:

A mesmerizing and thrilling novel—perfect for fans of Tana French and Stieg Larsson—that introduces a modern, unforgettable rookie cop whose past is as fascinating and as deadly as the crimes she investigates. SHE KNOWS WHAT IT’S LIKE. . . . At first, the murder scene appears sad, but not unusual: a young woman undone by drugs and prostitution, her six-­year-­old daughter dead alongside her. But then detectives find a strange piece of evidence in the squalid house: the platinum credit card of a very wealthy—and long dead—steel tycoon. What is a heroin-­addicted hooker doing with the credit card of a well-­known and powerful man who died months ago? This is the question that the most junior member of the investigative team, Detective Constable Fiona Griffiths, is assigned to answer. But D.­C. Griffiths is no ordinary cop. She’s earned a reputation at police headquarters in Cardiff, Wales, for being odd, for not picking up on social cues, for being a little overintense. And there’s that . . .

Book rate:
111 downloads


Author:

Series : Book 4 of "Vintage Magic Mystery"
Maddie Cutler thought she was taking on a new design intern for her boutique. But instead she finds her dead at the train station under suspicious circumstances. Now, Maddie is determined to iron out the wrinkles of this mystery.

Book rate:
827 downloads


Author:

Welcome to the world of grim reaper extraordinaire, Charley Davidson. Try as she might, there’s no avoiding her destiny. Sometimes being the grim reaper really is, well,. And since Charley’s last case went so awry, she has taken a couple of months off to wallow in the wonders of self-­pity. But when a woman shows up on her doorstep convinced someone is trying to kill her, Charley has to force herself to rise above . . . or at least get dressed. It becomes clear something is amiss when everyone the woman knows swears she’s insane. But the more they refute the woman’s story, the more Charley believes it. In the meantime, the sexy, sultry son of Satan, Reyes Farrow, is out of prison and out of Charley’s life, as per her wishes and several perfectly timed death threats. But his absence has put a serious crimp in her sex life. While there are other things to consider, like the fact that the city of Albuquerque has been taken hostage by an arsonist, Charley is having a difficult time . . .

Book rate:
220 downloads
  read online  
Book rate:
994 downloads
Book rate:
799 downloads
  read online  


Author:

THE THIRD BOOK IN THE AVA LEE SERIES In Ian Hamilton’s The Red Pole of Macau, family ties are stressed to the limit when intrepid forensic accountant Ava Lee must rescue her half brother, Michael, and his business partner, Simon, from a disastrous multimillion-­dollar real-­estate deal in Macau. When the developers turn out to be gangsters, Michael and Simon are threatened with bankruptcy and much worse. Ava struggles to salvage the deal and her family’s money, but then Simon is kidnapped, and the rules of the game abruptly change.­Determined to keep her mentor, Uncle, out of the affair, Ava is forced to turn to a former client, the cunning and seductive May Ling Wong, for help. With time running out, Ava must use all her skills to outwit the gangsters, rescue Simon, and save her family’s future.

Book rate:
121 downloads
  read online  


Author:

Fifteen years ago, a psychotic killer abducted seventeen-­year-­old Melissa Walker. For 83 days she was raped, tortured, and then left for dead in a deserted churchyard . . . but she was still alive.­Melissa begins a new life as homicide inspector Sabrina Vaughn. With a new face and a new name, it's her job to hunt down murderers—­a job she does very well.­But when Michael O'Shea, a childhood acquaintance with a suspicious past, suddenly finds her, he brings to life the nightmare Sabrina has long since buried.­Believing his sister was recently murdered by the same monster who attacked Sabrina, Michael is dead set on getting his revenge—­using Sabrina as bait.

Book rate:
182 downloads


Author:

Being the Adventures of an Amateur Crackswoman.

Book rate:
49 downloads
  read online  

Books for genre Books ~~ Fiction~~ Mystery & Detective ~~...