General Ebooks Apps

You can get General e-Books Desktop Reader here (BETA)

For Android - get APK or use QR-code below

General Ebooks for Android

19 results for request «acquainted with the night»

Probably you should specify your search parameters, using additional filter options.

Page 1 from 1


Author:

Alex Ryan is happier than she believed possible and her relationship with fellow police officer CJ St. Clair is the reason. But in the blink of an eye her world falls into darkness. An accident leaves her injured and sidelined—and suspicious about the circumstances. Then tragedy strikes at the heart of her family. It seems like random violence until the worst blow falls, leaving Alex devastated. Alex has no proof that there is more than terrible coincidence at work, but she can’t accept that her life is fated to be filled with shadows and pain. She must unravel the mystery and motive behind the tragic changes in her life—and fight to regain her love. Brainy is the new sexy in Erica Abbott’s celebrated, reader favorite series.

Book rate:
54 downloads


Author:

[Menage Amour: Erotic Sci-­Fi Alternative Menage a Quatre Romance M/M/M/M with Multiple Partners Public Exhibition sex toys] Dale despised the Terran military. He was drafted not a volunteer. He never expected to get captured by the Algonquans and sold as a breeder pet either. He only prays his new owner is kind and doesn't eat him. Then he meets fellow pet Mark who informs him getting captured was the luckiest day of their lives. Mark also hated the military and now spends his days in a life of sexual leisure enjoying poetry and totally at peace with his fate. Dale settles in and finds not only does he enjoy this life he loves Mark too. Despite tragedy striking too close to home in their protected world they find room to love their Master's newest pets Cooper and Nate. When the war ends and the Terran pets are granted their freedom the men are faced with a choice: return or stay with the owner they've grown to love? ** A Siren Erotic Romance

Book rate:
174 downloads
Book rate:
6 downloads


Author:

A magical tour of night's great landmarks....­Eulogistic and very personal treatment of a world to itself, full of incident and lovely as a Whistler nocturne. Kirkus Reviews (starred review)

Book rate:
10 downloads
Book rate:
15 downloads
Book rate:
6 downloads


Author:

Seven years ago Paul Raeburn’s son, Alex, eleven, was admitted to a psychiatric hospital after leaving his fifth-­grade classroom in an inexplicable rage. He was hospitalized three times over the next three years until he was finally diagnosed by a psychiatrist as someone exhibiting a clear-­cut case of bipolar disorder. This ended a painful period of misdiagnosis and inappropriate drug therapy. Then Raeburn’s younger daughter, Alicia, twelve, was diagnosed as suffering from depression after episodes of self-­mutilation and suicidal thoughts. She too was repeatedly admitted to psychiatric hospitals. All during this terrible, painful time, Raeburn’s marriage was disintegrating, and he had to ask what he and his wife might have done, unwittingly, to contribute to their children’s mental illness. And so, literally to save his children’s lives, he used all the resources available to him as a science reporter and writer to educate himself on their diseases and the various drugs and . . .

Book rate:
2 downloads


Author:

Weaving together science and storytelling, art and anthropology, Dewdney takes readers on a fascinating journey through the nocturnal realm. In twelve chapters corresponding to the twelve hours of night, he illuminates night's central themes, including sunsets, nocturnal animals, bedtime stories, festivals of the night, fireworks, astronomy, nightclubs, sleep and dreams, the graveyard shift, the art of darkness, and endless nights. With infectious curiosity, a lyrical, intimate tone, and an eye for nighttime beauties both natural and man-­made, Christopher Dewdney paints a captivating portrait of our hours in darkness. Christopher Dewdney is the author of three books of nonfiction—Last Flesh, The Secular Grail, and The Immaculate Perception—as well as eleven books of poetry. A three-­time nominee for Governor General's Awards and a first-­prize winner of the CBC Literary Competition, Dewdney lives in Toronto, Ontario. "As you read these pages, your life will change, because the way . . .

Book rate:
1 downloads


Author:

In the tradition of Kay Redfield Jamison’s An Unquiet Mind, Acquainted with the Night is a powerful memoir of one man’s struggle to deal with the adolescent depression and bipolar disorder of his son and his daughter.­Seven years ago Paul Raeburn’s son, Alex, eleven, was admitted to a psychiatric hospital after leaving his fifth-­grade classroom in an inexplicable rage. He was hospitalized three times over the next three years until he was finally diagnosed by a psychiatrist as someone exhibiting a clear-­cut case of bipolar disorder. This ended a painful period of misdiagnosis and inappropriate drug therapy. Then Raeburn’s younger daughter, Alicia, twelve, was diagnosed as suffering from depression after episodes of self-­mutilation and suicidal thoughts. She too was repeatedly admitted to psychiatric hospitals. All during this terrible, painful time, Raeburn’s marriage was disintegrating, and he had to ask what he and his wife might have done, unwittingly, to contribute to their . . .

Book rate:
0 downloads


Author:

Dive deep into Acquainted with the Night by Robert Frost anywhere you go: on a plane, on a mountain, in a canoe, under a tree. Or grab a flashlight and read Shmoop under the covers. Shmoop's award-­winning Poetry Guides are now available on your eReader. Shmoop eBooks are like having a trusted, fun, chatty, expert poetry-­tour-­guide always by your side, no matter where you are (or how late it is at night).­This Shmoop Poetry Guide offers fresh analysis, a line-­by-­line close reading of the poem, examination of the poet's technique, form, meter, rhyme, symbolism, jaw-­dropping trivia, a glossary of poetry terms, and more. Best of all, Shmoop's analysis aims to look at a topic from multiple points of view to give you the fullest understanding.­Experts and educators from top universities, including Stanford, UC Berkeley, and Harvard, have written Shmoop guides designed to engage you and to get your brain bubbling. Shmoop is here to make you a better lover (of poetry) and to help you make . . .

Book rate:
0 downloads


Author:

Part of the Tavistock Clinic Series. This book explores some of the ways in which an understanding of poetry, and the poetic impulse, can be fruitfully informed by psychoanalytic ideas. The contributors focus on the work of particular poets, from the prophet Ezekiel to Seamus Heaney. They demonstrate the ways in which specific psychoanalytic concepts and theories can enable us to see meanings in a poem which might otherwise not be apparent. Several shed light on the creative process itself.

Book rate:
0 downloads


Author:

Death is the most predictable thing that will happen to any of us and one of the few experiences we share with every other human being, yet we hardly give it a thought. Most of us behave as if pretending it didn't exist gives is a measure of control over it. The traditional supports that used to cradle us in times of need are no longer there. Acquainted with the Night is the story of Allegra Taylor's year spent working in a hospice and training to become part of London Lighthouse, the support network for people with AIDS. Accessible, anecdotal and warmly personal, this is an important book. For it shows us that death is not the enemy; that it is possible to 'be there' for someone who is dying or bereaved, to grieve well in the face of death and, when the time comes, to die well ourselves.

Book rate:
0 downloads


Author:

A rich and diverse collection of stories detailing life in all its daily battles and yearningsLynne Sharon Schwartz is a master of tone, deft at creating realistic settings and characters. In Acquainted with the Night, she unleashes sixteen wickedly smart, wholly believable short stories. In the title story, for instance, a man's nocturnal battle against a floating globule in his eye forces him to question his very state of being. In "Mrs. Saunders Writes to the World,­" an anonymous old woman attempts to force people to know her first name by writing "FRANNY" in big red letters all over her neighborhood. In another, a girl must to deal with the increasingly juvenile actions of her divorced mother.­By turns darkly humorous, moving, and witty, Acquainted with the Night demonstrates Schwartz's genius for detail.

Book rate:
1 downloads
Book rate:
1 downloads


Author:

Author: WriterJC Language: English

Book rate:
3 downloads
  read online  

Search Result