General Ebooks Apps

You can get General e-Books Desktop Reader here (BETA)

For Android - get APK or use QR-code below

General Ebooks for Android

385 results for request «the secret agent»

Probably you should specify your search parameters, using additional filter options.

Page 1 from 20


Author:

She was beautiful, she was ruthless. She was Vera Atkins, legendary spy of the 1930s and 1940s. Here is the extraordinary account of the woman whose intelligence, beauty and unflagging dedication proved the key in turning the tide of WWII. Recruited at age 23 by legendary spymaster William Stephenson (known as Intrepid) Vera Atkins undertook countless perilous missions on her own in the 1930s. Her fierce intellect, personal courage, and facility with languages quickly propelled her to the leadership echelon of the Special Operations Executive (SOE), a covert intelligence agency formed by Winston Churchill. During World War II...

Book rate:
70 downloads


Author:

The Secret Agent is the unsurpassed ancestor of a long series of twentieth-­century novels and films which explore the confused motives that lie
at the heart of political terrorism. In its use of powerful psychological insight to intensify narrative suspense, it set the terms by which subsequent
works in its genre were created. Conrad was the first novelist to discover the strange in-­between territory of the political exile, and his genius was
such that we still have no truer map of that region's moral terrain than his story of a terrorist plot and its tragic consequences for the guilty and
innocent alike.

Book rate:
392 downloads
  read online  


Author:

NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLERUSA TODAY BESTSELLERFor fans of Jacqueline Winspear, Charles Todd, and Anne Perry, The Prime Minister's Secret Agent is a gripping new mystery featuring intrepid spy and code breaker Maggie Hope. And this time, the fallout of a deadly plot comes straight to her own front door. World War II rages on across Europe, but Maggie Hope has finally found a moment of rest on the pastoral coast of western Scotland. Home from an undercover mission in Berlin, she settles down to teach at her old spy training camp, and to heal from scars on both her body and heart. Yet instead of enjoying the quieter pace of life, Maggie is quickly drawn into another web of danger and intrigue. When three ballerinas fall strangely ill in Glasgow--­including one of Maggie's dearest friends--­Maggie partners with MI-­5 to uncover the truth behind their unusual symptoms. What she finds points to a series of poisonings that may expose shocking...

Book rate:
73 downloads


Author:

The blackest sheep of the Morgan clan came home to Texas to collect his inheritance...­not start a family. But there's a family already waiting for him! Four orphaned quadruplets in need of a loving home are pretty hard to resist. The hitch? To adopt them, Pete needs a wife. And Priscilla Perkins could be the ideal candidate.... She may be wildly attracted to the globe-­hopping secret agent, but Priscilla isn't going to be lassoed into marriage by Pete or his matchmaking father. Even if it is just a temporary engagement. And even if the tiny babies are calling to something deep inside her. Priscilla may not think Pete is husband material, but he knows make a super mom. With angels stealing his heart, it's a scenario no man can resist!

Book rate:
16 downloads


Author:

Were the D-­Day landings saved from failure because of a lone secret agent?­Agent Garbo tells the astonishing story of a self-­made secret agent who matched wits with the best minds of the Third Reich — and won. Juan Pujol was a nobody, a Barcelona poultry farmer determined to oppose the Nazis. Using only his gift for daring falsehoods, Pujol became Germany's most valued agent — or double agent: it took four tries before the British believed he was really on the Allies' side. In the guise of Garbo, Pujol turned in a masterpiece of deception worthy of his big-­screen namesake. He created an imaginary million-­man army, invented armadas out of thin air, and brought a vast network of fictional subagents whirring to life. His unwitting German handlers believed every word, and banked on Garbo's lies as their only source of espionage within Great Britain. For his greatest performance, Pujol had to convince the German High Command that the D-­Day invasion of Normandy...

Book rate:
128 downloads


Author:

NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER • USA TODAY BESTSELLERFor fans of Jacqueline Winspear, Charles Todd, and Anne Perry, The Prime Minister’s Secret Agent is a gripping new mystery featuring intrepid spy and code breaker Maggie Hope. And this time, the fallout of a deadly plot comes straight to her own front door. World War II rages on across Europe, but Maggie Hope has finally found a moment of rest on the pastoral coast of western Scotland. Home from an undercover mission in Berlin, she settles down to teach at her old spy training camp, and to heal from scars on both her body and heart. Yet instead of enjoying the quieter pace of life, Maggie is quickly drawn into another web of danger and intrigue. When three ballerinas fall strangely ill in Glasgow—including one of Maggie’s dearest friends—Maggie partners with MI-­5 to uncover the truth behind their unusual symptoms. What she finds points to a series of poisonings that may expose shocking government secrets and put countless British . . .

Book rate:
29 downloads


Author:

Once rumored to have been the inspiration for Ian Fleming’s Miss Moneypenny, Vera Atkins climbed her way to the top in the Special Operations Executive, or SOE: Britain’s secret service created to help build up, organize, and arm the resistance in the Nazi-­occupied countries. Throughout the war, Atkins recruited, trained, and mentored the agents for the SOE’s French Section, which sent more than four hundred young men and women into occupied France—at least one hundred of whom never returned and were reported “Missing Presumed Dead” after the war. Twelve of these were women and among Atkins’s most cherished spies. When the war ended in 1945, she made it her personal mission to find out what happened to them and the other agents lost behind enemy lines, tracing rigorously their horrific final journeys. But as the woman who carried out this astonishing search appeared quintessentially English, Atkins was nothing of the sort. As we follow her through the devastation of postwar . . .

Book rate:
28 downloads
  read online  


Author:

"He swore to take a bullet for the President and left it all behind to take a bullet for the American people" Why would a successful, twelve-­year Secret Service agent resign his position in the prime of his career to run for political office against all the odds? Dan Bongino's book is an intimate look at life inside the presidential "bubble,­" a haze of staffers, consultants, cronies, acolytes, bureaucrats and lobbyists that creates the "alternate reality" in which monumental policy decisions are made. And it is the story of a dedicated Secret Service professional who, after years inside the "bubble,­" walked away in favor of sounding a clarion call to the American people in defense of sane government and the U.­S. Constitution. Finally, why the Fast & Furious scandal, the bombings in Boston and the terrorist attacks in Benghazi are harbingers of what's to come without a bold change in direction. Take the journey with Dan Bongino from the tough streets of New York City where he . . .

Book rate:
28 downloads


Author:

In her acclaimed debut, The Cutout, former CIA analyst Francine Mathews defined a world of intrigue where only the savvy survive. Now, in The Secret Agent, Mathews propels us deep into the baffling history of a maverick American’s glittering life and his sudden, cataclysmic disappearance…. Here is the masterful story of secret agents of many kinds--­in a realm where truth is the most dangerous secret of all.­Who was Jack Roderick?­Trained by the OSS, Jack Roderick plummeted into Bangkok one rainy morning in 1945 and never left. Silk King, pirate, ruthless collector of beautiful objects--­especially women--­Roderick was feared and respected as a foreign spy, a business kingpin, and a trader in men’s souls. And then, at the height of the Vietnam War, caught in a killing web of treachery and revenge that would determine the fate of his only son, Rory, Jack Roderick walked into the jungle…and vanished from the face of the earth.­Four decades later, can the mystery be solved?­International . . .

Book rate:
22 downloads


Author:

This undercover agent can't disguise his true desire! Undercover DEA agent Marcos Costa is shocked to see Brenna Hartwell—­his very first crush—­cozying up to the brutal drug lord he's about to bust! He hasn't seen her since childhood, but he never imagined she'd turn to a life of crime. What the hunky agent doesn't know is that Brenna's working her own bust as a rookie cop undercover. Brenna didn't think she'd ever see Marcos again, especially not on her first undercover mission! She knows she has to keep her distance...­but while she and Marcos play out their daring ruse, their youthful passion reignites. One wrong move could blow their covers. Can two loners used to self-­reliance trust their lives—­and hearts—­to each other? The Lawmen: Bullets and Brawn

Book rate:
22 downloads


Author:

"He swore to take a bullet for the President and left it all behind to take a bullet for the American people" Why would a successful, twelve-­year Secret Service agent resign his position in the prime of his career to run for political office against all the odds? Dan Bongino's book is an intimate look at life inside the presidential "bubble,­" a haze of staffers, consultants, cronies, acolytes, bureaucrats and lobbyists that creates the "alternate reality" in which monumental policy decisions are made. And it is the story of a dedicated Secret Service professional who, after years inside the "bubble,­" walked away in favor of sounding a clarion call to the American people in defense of sane government and the U.­S. Constitution. Finally, why the Fast & Furious scandal, the bombings in Boston and the terrorist attacks in Benghazi are harbingers of what's to come without a bold change in direction. Take the journey with Dan Bongino from the tough streets of New York City where he was . . .

Book rate:
31 downloads


Author:

More information to be announced soon on this forthcoming title from Penguin USA

Book rate:
65 downloads

Search Result